#228 Movies anyone?

Sep 15, 2008 to Dec 21, 2008

In these almost 14 weeks, I watched more movies in theater than I had ever seen in my life… And to a very pleasant surprise, most of them, infact all of them turned out to be ‘awekasam’ :)

  1. Ghost Town
    Bertram Pincus, is a man whose people skills leave much to be desired. When Pincus dies unexpectedly, but is miraculously revived after seven minutes, he wakes up to discover that he now has the annoying ability to see ghosts.
    IMDB says: 7.2
    I would say: 7.0
  2. The Song of Sparrows
    Karim is a man who works in a place where Ostriches are kept. One day, one of the Ostriches escapes because of Karim’s mistake, and consequently, they fire Karim. He finds a new job in Tehran, but he faces new problems in his personal life…
    IMDB says: 7.8
    I would say: 7.5 (Majid Majidi it is!)
  3. Truth in 24 [Documentary, World Premier] — not yet released to the world
    “Truth in 24” chronicles the Audi Sport racing teams as they attempt to win a record fifth consecutive 24 Hours of Le Mans…
    I would say: 8.0
  4. The Wave (Die Welle)
    A high school teacher’s unusual experiment to demonstrate to his students what life is like under a dictatorship spins horribly out of control when he forms a social unit with a life of its own.
    IMDB says: 7.5
    I would say: 7.0
  5. Body of Lies
    Roger Ferris uncovers a lead on a major terrorist leader suspected to be operating out of Jordan
    IMDB says: 7.5
    I would say: 7.0
  6. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
    Set during World War II, a story seen through the innocent eyes of Bruno, the eight-year-old son of the commandant at a concentration camp, whose forbidden friendship with a Jewish boy on the other side of the camp fence has startling and unexpected consequences.
    IMDB says: 7.9
    I would say: 8.5
  7. Happy Go Lucky
    A look at a few chapters in the life of Poppy, a cheery, colorful, North London schoolteacher whose optimism tends to exasperate those around her.
    IMDB says: 7.3
    I would say: 7.0
  8. Milk
    The story of California’s first openly gay elected official, Harvey Milk, a San Francisco supervisor who was assassinated along with Mayor George Moscone by San Francisco Supervisor Dan White.
    IMDB says: 8.3
    I would say: 7.5
  9. Changeling
    Angelina Jolie’s prayer for her kidnapped son to return home is answered, though it doesn’t take long for her to suspect the boy who comes back is not hers.
    IMDB says: 8.1
    I would say: 7.5 (I know Rashmi won’t agree to this as she claimed this movie spoilt her streak of watching all excellent movies in Chicago)
  10. Yes Man
    Jim Carrey challenges himself to say “yes” to everything for an entire year.
    IMDB says: 7.3
    I would say: 7.0

Overall, none of the movies were disappointing, and I would rate all of them above 7.0 on 10. I now look forward to watching Sunshine Cleaners after watching a very promising teaser innumerable times in Chicago theaters.

24968.10626

6 thoughts on “#228 Movies anyone?

  1. Aditto, I think you were the charm… Every movie I’ve watched so far this year, I’ve hated! Watched benjamin button last night and was very disappointed… :(

    1. Aww nevermind…
      I am looking forward to watch some good movies here, but all the good Hollywood movies that are releasing here, I’ve already watched them in US. :(

  2. Hello ,

    I hardly watch any movies so I am not even aware of their names ;)

    But I will try watching atleast few from the list above…Thanks for the post…

  3. Well you did not watch hindi movies thats why you are happy. You could go watch Rab ne bana di jodi or something silly like Chandni chowk to China and spoil your good movie streak whenever you want.

    By the way the only movie I have watched from the above list is ghost town.

Leave a Reply

