Food Experiment – Healthy Apple Basil Omelette

I always get confused trying to spell Omelet. Sometimes I end up spelling it out as Omelet, sometimes Omelette, both of which – I now understand – are correct.

Omelettes are easy to make, and there are millions of ways to make them. Each country has its own special way of making them. While I absolutely love the Indian Masala Omelette, I am not too fond of the Japanese Tamagoyaki Omelette.

I have experimented with enough egg + combinations to make omelettes in at least 5 different ways. Here I bring to you one of my latest omelette recipes, and also currently my most favorite one.

Omlette

Oh, I forgot to ask if you have ever tasted cooked apple before. If no, you are missing an awesome ingredient in otherwise spicy, cooked food. If yes, have you ever tried cooking it yourself? I can proudly claim that I have eaten more apples this year than the total number of apples I have eaten in all the remaining years combined together! My nutritionist is ensuring that an apple a day keeps my fat away. Cooking apples is damn easy. Why do I say so? Because, even if you do not cook them completely, you are guaranteed to enjoy the taste.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 apple – chopped
  • 1/3 onion – chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 4-5 basil leaves
  • Pinch of Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons red chilly powder
  • Pinch of turmeric
  • 2 teaspoon oil

Method:

  1. Beat 2 eggs along with salt.
  2. Add washed basil leaves, chopped onions, red chilly powder and turmeric to the batter and beat again till fluffy. Keep aside.
  3. Sauté the chopped apple in 1 teaspoon oil till crisp and soft both at the same time. Keep aside.
  4. Heat 1 teaspoon oil on a flat pan or omelette pan and pour the beaten eggs.
  5. Tilt the pan to spread the batter evenly over the entire pan.
  6. After the batter settles, evenly distribute the sautéed apple over it.
  7. Wait till the omelette is cooked and you do not see any more liquid batter.
  8. Lift the omelette from one end and fold it over once, or twice.
  9. Cut in the center, and flip both pieces to cook the other side for a few seconds.
  10. Remove from flame and serve.

When you eat this, the best thing you would notice is that each ingredient retains its flavour distinctly in the final product. You will be able to identify the flavour of the basil leaves, the apple, the onion and the egg of course!

Note: You may replace 2 eggs with 1 whole egg + 1 egg white to make it healthier. If you like the taste of egg whites and are extremely conscious of fatty stuff, go ahead and replace the 2 whole eggs with 3 egg whites.

Difficulty: Low
Inflation: Low to Moderate
Calories: Low to Moderate
Eat when: Preferably breakfast or brunch
Yumminess Factor: Best enjoyed with a dash of orange marmalade and a generous sprinkle of freshly ground pepper

Buon Appetito!

2 thoughts on “Food Experiment – Healthy Apple Basil Omelette

  1. Someone’s cooking up a storm! I like it. It’s slowly but surely inspiring me to get off the couch and step into the kitchen :)

    • :D It is no storm. It is my diet in an attempt to shed some kilos of my body! And yes, if it inspires you, get your hands dirty right now! :)

Leave a Reply

