Food Experiment – Fluffy American Pancakes

So pancakes. I mentioned in my previous blog post that pancakes are my greatest discovery from the 3 trips to the United States. I love eating pancakes. Unfortunately, as with bagels, we do not get them easily in India thanks to some pretty awesome local variations that we very well know as Dosas, Uttappams, or Cheelas (Poodas).

As soon as I had returned from my last trip to the US, I found Betty Crocker Pancake Mix in supermarts in India. For the next two years I used the pancake mix to make pancakes. All I had to do was add some milk, an egg, and cook on the pan! At times the stores would run out of stock and disappoint me and wife. Eating pancakes soaked in maple syrup is serious fun, but it is even more fun to make them at home! Seriously! And it turns out that the ones I made today at home, were the best pancakes I have ever eaten. Even better than those at IHOP or Clarke’s (Chicago)! So without wasting any more time, let us get down to the recipe, shall we?

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour – I used maida, you may use 3:1 proportion of maida and wheat flour for a slightly healthier option
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons granulated sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons oil
  • ¼ cup castor sugar for garnishing

1. Sieve the flour in a bowl, and mix in all the dry ingredients (except the castor sugar) together.

2. Pour the melted butter and milk, and mix the batter.

3. Add a whole egg and beat the batter till you achieve a fluid consistency. Ensure that you do not beat it too much to make it 100% homogeneous.

4. Heat a pan and brush a little oil on it. You need just a drop of oil if you are using a non-stick pan.

5. Pour a dollop of batter in the center of the pan. It will spread evenly to create a disk.

6. Wait till you see bubbles on the top of the pancake. Lift it using a spatula and check that the base has turned light to medium brown. Flip and cook the other side.

7. The other side will first swell giving the pancake its fluffy shape. Lift using a spatula to check the colour of the base, and remove from the pan if it is medium brown.

8. That is it! Go serve it with syrup of your choice, top with fruits or a scoop of fresh cream, or simply sprinkle some castor sugar on top. Use your creativity.

Makes 6 medium sized pancakes that serve 2 people.

This recipe contains moderate amount of calories, however it will become heavy once dipped in any sweet syrup or cream. Infinite variations of the recipe are easily possible. Baking soda, butter and eggs are not a must, but I would not recommend to try this recipe excluding all three of them together. As to why I call this recipe ‘American’ pancakes, the answer is that pancakes are made differently all over the world but specifically like this in the United States.

Difficulty: Low
Inflation: Moderate
Calories: Moderate to heavy
Eat when: Preferably breakfast or lunch or dessert
Yumminess Factor: Best enjoyed soaked in maple syrup topped with berries and sprinkled with castor sugar, or simply topped with vanilla ice cream ;)

Buon Appetito!

8 thoughts on “Food Experiment – Fluffy American Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Let us bake some delicious scones! | The Integral

  2. I’ve been making pancakes at home for over an year now…. N everyone absolutely loves them… I made them slightly different than the ones mentioned here. I make a simple syrup to go with it too. I boil half cup of water n then add abt two table spoons of honey, a slice of lemon n half teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Let it boil for abt 2 mins. Pour just enough on each pancake for it to soak it… It just adds the lemony spicy zing to every bite! My lil one loves it too!

    • Hello Neha!
      We all just love pancakes :D Too bad I din’t know about the American version when I was a kid. As I already mentioned, you can make infinite variations of pancakes, and it is rare that you will go wrong :)

      Let me try that syrup you have written about, seems easy to make and yummy to taste! By the way, I already have cinnamon powder, and also add it at times to the pancake batter :D

Leave a Reply

